Survivor Resources

Below is a list of great resources that can help you learn more about sexual assault and what to do if you’re victimized, as well as support services that are available to you. This is not a comprehensive list; there are literally thousands of support networks that operate at the local, campus, state, and national levels. A simple Internet search will help you find services in your local area.

The two best resources to check out first are the National Sexual Violence Resource Center (www.nsvrc.org) and RAINN, the Rape, Abuse and Incest National Network (www.rainn.org). Both contain links to other organizations that can support you. RAINN also has a toll-free number [800-656-HOPE (4673)] and access to an online chat hotline at https://hotline.rainn.org/online/.

American Association of University Women (www.aauw.org)

Bureau of Justice Statistics (www.bjs.gov)

Crisis resources by state (www.rainn.org)

Definitions of rape and rape terms (www.rainn.org/articles/legal-role-consent)

End Rape on Campus (www.endrapeoncampus.org)

Faculty Against Rape (www.facultyagainstrape.net)

Greeks Against Sexual Assault (www.gasanow.celect.org/coalition)

It Gets Better Project (www.itgetsbetter.org)

Know Your IX (www.knowyourix.org)

Lambda (www.lambdalegal.org)

National Alliance to End Sexual Violence (www.endsexualviolence.org)

National LGBTQ Taskforce – Be You (www.thetaskforce.org)

National Organization of Women (www.now.org)

National Sexual Violence Resource Center (www.nsvrc.org)

National Student Coalition Against Rape (www.studentcoalitionagainstrape.org)

National Women’s Law Center (www.nwlc.org)

NoMore.org (www.nomore.org)

Not Alone (www.notalone.gov)

Not on Our Grounds (UVA) (http://notonourgrounds.virginia.edu/)

One in Four (www.oneinfourusa.org)

One Less (www.atuva.student.virginia.edu/organization/oneless)

Planned Parenthood (www.plannedparenthood.org)

Rainbow Youth Hotline [877/LGBT-YTH (542-8984)]

Raliance Program – National Sexual Violence Resource Center (www.nsvrc.org)

Rape, Abuse and Incest National Network (www.rainn.org)

Students Active for Ending Rape (www.safercampus.org)

Summary of DOJ Statute of Limitations by State (www.studentcoalitionagainstrape.org/rape-laws-by-state.html)

Surv Justice – Attorney Advocacy Firm (www.survjustice.org)

Survivor Project (www.survivorproject.org)

Title IX – Office of Civil Rights, Department of Education

(www2.ed.gov/about/offices/list/ocr/docs/tix_dis.html)

U.S. Department of Justice (www.usdoj.gov)

Ultra Violet (www.weareultraviolet.org)

Victim Rights Law Center (www.victimrights.org)